• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Softdisk monthly software collection - killed 2 motherboards

billdeg

Technician
I would not believe it if I did not see for myself. I was testing an unmodified Apple ][e that was working fine. I attempted to load a diskette called Softdisk monthly software collection for Apple II+, IIe, IIc, IIgs Issue 78.

My screen suddenly went haywire. see picture:
http://www.vintagecomputer.net/apple/appleIIe_rev1/symptom_ram_problem.jpg (At the time I thought that this might be some kind of ram problem hence the file name)

I figured oh well...and I found a new motherboard.

Installed Tested, worked.

THEN I ran that damn disk again. The exact same thing happened. Now I have two identically-stricken motherboards. Same exact screen/result.

I plan to burn this diskette.

Anyone experienced this kind of thing before? I assume that there is no fix and the boards are dead, but I am not an Apple expert. At first I thought it was a RAM failure not related to the disk, but after destroying the 2nd motherboard I am convinced it was the software. Fortunately I took pictures to confirm.

Crazy, huh?

Crazy

Crazy

Hi,
I never, never heard of any Apple II software destroying hardware. 2 motherboards ? I would have thought it would taken out the disk controler or the drive itself. I have heard of the flat ribbon cables going bad and taking out hardware. But never a software. I would have tried a different drive. A semi bad cable might do the same thing. That is good one moment and another it is bad.

Was the disk hard to turn in its jacket? Can you rotate the floppy material to see if there is something more that magnetic material in the floppy?

I would test each chip in a known good mother board. It has to be a chipp. I think I have a IIe repair manual somewhere. Have not seen it YEARS.