• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Triggering Oscilloscope Externally Question

Tincanalley

Experienced Member
I will be using my scope to work on a Tandon floppy drive using the SM as a guide. I'm not an expert when it comes to using a scope, but I've successfully used it for a number of projects. However, I've never had to externally trigger it like the SM requires for a couple procedures (two probes and an external trigger). I know my scope requires a BNC connected lead for this purpose, but I can't find any information about the required lead. Is it just a standard BNC to clip or grabber? If so, after I connect the red lead to the test point, so I need to connect the ground to the same point as the probes, or is this un-necessary as the probes are already connect to the ground point? I know my scope came with the cable, but I cannot find it, nor remember what the test end looked like, so I need to order one.

If it is of interest, I will be using a Tektronix 465. Not the newest of scopes, but it gets the job done.

Yep, it’s exactly the same probe as the Y channels of the oscilloscope.

I would always connect the ground points of each probe to a local 0V reference to where I am measuring the signal at.

Dave

I would always connect the ground points of each probe to a local 0V reference to where I am measuring the signal at

I sometimes use a silly arrangement where I clip one of those jumpers with micro-clips to a ground reference, and at the other end clip breadboard wires long enough to reach the ground clips on all my probes, so they’re all using the same common for sure.

Per my two videos at [here], I just use a normal probe for external triggering.
Couple questions.

In the video, no external trigger was connected. For that procedure, it notes TP7 for the trigger. How did you do it without an external trigger?