• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Zenith Z-Note 425 Lnc Video Issues.

FParker

Okay, I have taken some time off from the Packard Bell to focus on an old project: the titular laptop. It's an IBM Thinkpad 300 with a different coat of paint.

It wouldn't boot when I initially received it in 2021, and because I'm a novice when it comes to computer diagnostics, I bought an old one that booted to BIOS off of EBay to aid me in that venture.

20230221_214743.jpg

As you can see, the motherboard has two levels: top level has processor and RAM, bottom level has power and drives. I should note that the left board (top) is from the "new" computer and the right board (bottom) is from my computer in this picture. The top board of my computer had some bad CMOS battery corrosion on the traces. I fixed those, and although it's not tidy, it works perfectly, as it is connected to the "new" bottom power board, and has booted to Windows 95 (my computer has a 160 mb HDD). Therefore, I have determined that the bottom board from my computer is the issue, and looking at it now, I think I've found some bad capacitors on it.

Before I bought the new computer, I read the description, and it noted video issues.

20230221_213929.jpg

I'm assuming the video is on the bottom board, since the issues stated in his EBay posting have carried over, despite the top board being from my computer. Granted, I cannot be 100% sure of that fact, but I just find it unlikely that it could be anything else.

The question is: how does one go about fixing this? I reckon the easiest way to fix this issue (assuming that the bottom board controls video) is to pull the passive components I need off the new computer's board and put them on mine.

I'm sorry if this is unclear. I will be happy to provide further elaboration, should it be needed. I've said "board" a lot😂.