• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

now the sound card...

ok, ive disconnected the cdrom, tried every position of the jumpers, ran diagnose.exe and still nothing :(
what now? :(

the only thing that you can faintly hear is music on the diagnose test and in games, but with far too much noise...

From what it sounds like, you need a new sound card.

Correct me if i'm wrong but that's what it sounds like...

maybe.. but i don't know what kind of soundcard would work in this computer...

at least i could fix the msgsrv.dll , windows not loading problem, by installing the win95 drivers... still no sound though...

list off the expansion slot types and your OS you will be using with this computer and we can help you find another sound card.

ok, i'm no expert... i know that i have a few pci ports... i think... just to be sure, here's some info on my motherboard http://stason.org/TULARC/pc/motherb...ECH-INTERNATIONAL-CORPORATION-486-MB-101.html (thanks modem7 for that) it says "The board has 4 8MHz ISA slots and 3 PCI slots with room between them so they're not shared like on some motherboards."

i'm running win98, and it runs pretty smoothly up until now... i was thinking of getting win98 SE so i can put a few usb ports... if i can... (i'm not sure yet). but i'll use a lot of DOS as well... if i have problems, ill switch to win95, maybe... but i guess it doesnt make much difference...

connection

connection

I might have missed this, so if it's been covered, my bad.

1. Are you sure you have your audio cable plugged into the right hole ?
2. What are you trying to drive ? Headphones ? Amp ? Line-in on a pre-amp ? If you can describe your audio chain from the card onwards, perhaps the problem isn't with the card, but rather how you're connecting to it.

patscc

yup, on speakers output... but i've tried every hole just in case...