• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Collecting computers in a recycling center - school project

ppo

Experienced Member
For a school project i'm working on, I will have the oportunity to go to a recycling center.

As so, I will have autorization to take some computers for the project and then, after the end of the year, I would like to keep them.

So that the project works as I planned, those computers should be 20 years old or more.

So, finally, as I'm still new to computer collecting I'd like to know if someone has experience in collecting computers from recycling centers and getting them to work.

Also I'd like to know what to look for and how can I know if I've found something valuable (advanced for its age/iconic/etc.)

So, finally, as I'm still new to computer collecting I'd like to know if someone has experience in collecting computers from recycling centers and getting them to work.
Most times, computers from recycling centers are fully working, just that no one wanted them and sent them off.

Also I'd like to know what to look for and how can I know if I've found something valuable (advanced for its age/iconic/etc.)
IBM systems (5150, 1560, AT, PS/2, etc.), Compact Macs, Apple ][ systems, DEC systems, luggables, Amiga computers... the list goes on and on. If you think it's valuable, pick it up and tell us about it.

486 or older, imo. Unless you know the CPU's have a lot of gold content, then grab as many as possible to scrap and sell.

If you are picking up 286/386/486 type boxes check for the case screws. Generally speaking if it had 4 or 5 and they are all intact chances are you are getting a complete unit. If there is 1 holding on a case that originally had 4, chances are its been pillaged. Take along a phillips screwdriver with you to check.

-Lance

If you have any questions about Apples, let me know. Here're a few to always keep an eye out for (ok, ok, so it's also a wishlist. :p)