• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Can't format my Mac iBook Clamshell

fred3rd

Experienced Member
I made the mistake of installing osX 10.1 before Classic 9.2.2. Now I can't install classic. I
can't get anything to boot so I can format and start over. I tried 9.0, 9.1, 9.2.2, 10.1 and 10.2. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. If it was a Ms os issue I'd have no problem. I'm new to this side of the street, :confused:

If you were to yank out the hard drive, mount it in a PC and scrub the drive with DBAN,
I wonder if you could start over.

I was saving that as a last resort due to the difficulty of removing the hdd. I was more hoping to find a software solution or maybe a kb trick during the boot other than hitting "C" (that doesn't work either). DBAN may be an option if there is a way to boot from USB.

Last edited:
FWIW I had this same problem with a Beige G3. Once OSX was installed it took over the machine and I couldn't get rid of it. (Intent was to downgrade to 9.1)

I had to reset the open firmware to start over.

The procedure is:

1. Start up into Open Firmware by pressing and holding the Command-Option-O-F key combination during startup.
2. At the Open Firmware prompt, type: reset-nvram
3. Press Return.
4. At the Open Firmware prompt, type: reset-all
5. Press Return
6. type: mac-boot

Dutch, I tried
The procedure is:

1. Start up into Open Firmware by pressing and holding the Command-Option-O-F key combination during startup.
2. At the Open Firmware prompt, type: reset-nvram
3. Press Return.
4. At the Open Firmware prompt, type: reset-all
5. Press Return
6. type: mac-boot
Numerouse times.
Every time I complete step #5, it boots into osX. I think it is possesed.
Any ideas?

Hello Fred,

I was in wrong about step 6. After you complete 'reset-all', your ibook will reboot if you have successfully reset the Open Firmware settings, which apparently has happened. Will it now start up from a OS9 cd? ('C' key)