• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Disk controller error

luis_orihuela

Hi,

I am new to apple computers but always wanted to have one, finally the day came and I got an apple ][ plus yesterday. It came with a Apple /// monitor, two disk drives and a disk controller card and a Videx card.

When I first tried to start it on, the screen got full of characters, some blinking, some reverse, some normal.

I tried t get the prompt cursor several times with out success, I turned it off and removed the Videx and the disk controller card, leaving only a Microsoft (applesoft?) card.

I turned it on and first got a screen with characters, retried and got a Apple legend and it began working.

I typed a small for-to program and executed as expected. Then I replaced the disk controller card and get the full screen.

Mainboard is very dirty, may that be the reason for the malfunction? is there something like a trouble shooting guide?

Regards

Luis

1. Reseat each of the chips on the board; make sure they are making good contact on all of the pins.

2. Your powersupply is probably marginal. That likely explains why you get flaky results with the extra load of the disk card (and, especially, the startup load of the disk drive). Replacements are not hard to come by, or you can take it apart and replace the capacitors.

Thank you David,

I have some more questions, I think this is just the beginning.

Should I use any cleaning solution before on the chip bases?, Just reseat the mainboard chips or the add on cards too? do I have to use something like a antistatic wrist to manipulate the chips?

Regards,

Luis

Should I use any cleaning solution before on the chip bases?