• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

apple II scsi or ide?

I own 4 apple II compatible systems and would love a hdd in all 4 (really want another IIgs, just love those things). I could test in a IIgs woz, apple IIE platinum, and a Franklin ACE 1200. I have limited programming knowledge outside of basic and some c++. I have many spare hard drives all over (both desktop and laptop). I am not sure about these things that use a cf card, just seems like asking for trouble.

As for capacity, I use to have a IIgs with a scsi card and used an external 40mb drive and never filled it. So almost any drive will work (for me that is). Sadly I put that system in storage and have yet to find it. It was fully decked out with 8mb of ram and that fast scsi card. Quite upsetting.

I'd be interested in a few of them myself.

I have a IIgs, a IIe and a Laser 128 that I'd love to have mass storage for.

I actually just picked up an XT-IDE PCB from Andrew this week and will be putting that to use soon. These types of cooperative homebrew hardware projects are fascinating. The things I learned just reading the last 50 pages of the XT-IDE developer thread nearly blew my mind.

it would be difficult to boot the system from HD without ROM, so I would think it shoud definitely be required. The real concern is the timing problem using simple TTL parts, due to the slower Apple bus. Frankly with WD being the sole manufacturer still producing ATA drives, I am skeptical of the viablility of the project in the long run.

You could also use a CF card in an IDE adapter, or my personal favorite, an industrial flash module! Both have the added benefit of being able to draw +5 from IDE pin 20, so there are no cables required, and you don't have to tap power off the power supply cables or slots into a Molex termination.