• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Need help replacing HD on Macintosh Classic

33black

Experienced Member
Alright, I'm going to take a stab at posting in the forum here as I've been racking my brains on this for about a month now.

First off, I'm a computer hobbyist, used to be into C programming in high school, ran a BBS, etc. However, I hadn't done that stuff in almost 20 years, and have lost a bit of the really technical knowledge I once had.

Fast forward, I've gotten this bug all of the sudden in the past few months to collect old computers, get them working, refurbish them, etc.

So I got this Macintosh Classic, the Classic I, not the II. A kid sold it to me on Craigslist, with the keyboard and mouse, non yellowed, for only $35! Plus it had some software with it as well.

He said that he suddenly had gotten the picture of the disk with the question mark, so obviously the cpu couldn't find the OS. I didn't have the 800k disks for any of the OS so I won all of the original System 7 with manuals on ebay.

When I put in the Disk Tools and tried to find the drive, it said it couldn't find a suitable SCSI disk...so it's not recognizing the internal HD. Got a new internal HD. It's a 2.1gb Seagate instead of the Quantum 40MB.

Still couldn't find it. Noticed there were no SCSI transistor/terminators on the drive. Bought a passive terminator for the cable. Still doesn't work. Tried putting the old drive in and tapping it, as some people said sometimes the drive gets stuck, didn't work.

Anyone have any ideas why it's not recognizing it? I looked up the jumper layout on Seagate's website to figure out where to put those, it's supposed to be Device 0 correct?

Anyone who has any insight into old SCSI setups or this exact same situation, or knows someone who does, PLEASE help me. This is driving me insane.

Cheers.

I have a Classic I with somewhat the same issue. Haven't had the time to tackle it yet but hope to soon.