• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Success story with Apple IIc Plus

smp

Veteran Member
Hello all,

I am Stephen Pereira, a new member here. In real life, I am an engineer by training, and now a manager of engineers. Long ago, I was one of two partners who opened the first computer store in New Hampshire, Microcomputers, Inc. So, as both an engineer and also a personal computer enthusiast, I have a lengthy history with all sorts of personal computers, starting from the original 8080 based kits.

After all these years, I was considering resurrecting an old Apple IIc Plus and external 5.25" floppy drive that I had picked up along the way many years ago. Here is my success story:

Starting with no system or software disks, I perused the forum postings at www.Apple2online.com (I hadn't discovered this forum yet) and came to the conclusion that ADTPro is the best software to use to start from scratch. That was supported by another user there, who answered one of my early questions. The documentation on the ADTPro web site was very thorough, too. Since I had to purchase a serial null modem cable, I went over to www.Retrofloppy.com (also recommended) and purchased one, along with the ADTPro disk for the Apple IIc Plus side. This was probably the best money spent on this project ($20 for the cable and $7.95 for the disk, plus a few more dollars for shipping), because it got me off on a sure footing.

I used a Dell Mini netbook with a USB-to-serial converter and downloaded the server side of ADTPro into that. This setup works like a charm. The Apple IIc Plus booted the ADTPro disk and all I had to do was to select the serial I/O option on both the Apple and the server sides and I was connected.