• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

IBM 1501492 HDD controller and dual ST-412s

SteveMarg

Experienced Member
Hi there.

I have an IBM 5161 Expansion Unit. I am trying to use an IBM 1501492 HDD controller with 2 ST-412s and I am unable to low level format either drive. Sometimes, the controller only sees one HD.

There are no switches or settings on the card, but is there something I should be setting on the HDs? Is there something I could be doing wrong with the cabling?

I have tried both the SpeedStor and Advanced Diagnostics methods to low level format, and have been unsuccessful.

I would appreciate any help. I'm still new to vintage computers (up until a few months ago, vintage for me was 2001) :D

Thanks,
Steve

Steve, it depends on two things mainly.

1) What you are using for a HD cable. Does it have a twist between the two Hard Drive connectors. If so, the twist must between the correct wires and they are *not* the same wires as the twist in the Floppy Drive ribbon.

2) What the Drive Select jumper is set on each of the two Hard Drives and this differs depending on whether or not you are using a control cable as described in 1, above, or it's a control cable that has no twist int it.

IOW, it ain't simple. :)

Last edited:
Stone,

I checked the cable. It appears to be a legitimate HD cable.

As for the drives, I guess they use a shunt block. Can you tell me how I should set these?

Also, if there is any documentation for this, I will certainly read it.

Thanks,
Steve

I checked the cable. It appears to be a legitimate HD cable.
What is a "legitimate" HD cable?

As for the drives, I guess they use a shunt block. Can you tell me how I should set these?
As Stone pointed out in #2, it depends on what that "legitimate" cable looks like.

Also, the data cables have to be connected to the appropriate connectors to match the cable/location/Drive select settings.