• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Reprogrammable ISA card?

Malvineous

Experienced Member
Hi all,

I was looking at the XT-IDE project this morning and it got me thinking. (But please excuse my ignorance, I'm no expert in any of this!)

Would it be possible, or even worthwhile, to create an embedded system (like a router with an ARM CPU, for example) and build it onto a card that could be inserted into an ISA slot? If the ISA signals were routed into the embedded processor, it would be possible to run some code on the processor which could then directly interact with the ISA bus.

What I am imagining is a card you insert into an ISA slot, and it has a USB (or even an Ethernet) plug on the back. When power is applied, the card downloads firmware from a host machine and starts running it. That firmware is a program which controls how the device works. You could have firmware that makes the card appear as a hard drive controller, and the card accesses a disk image on a remote PC and makes it appear as a local disk. You could load different firmware that makes the device behave as a sound card, but it streams the audio back over the USB/network for playing/recording on another PC. Another firmware program could make the card appear as a display adapter, sending the display output to another PC. You could make it appear as a network card, with IPX support running from a ROM so you don't need to load any network drivers.

If it were possible to do this, it seems like it could be a really versatile device. Does anything like this already exist? Would anyone even want something like this?