• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Why don't you use long play cassettes in the 1530?

generic486

Experienced Member
I have a whole shoebox full of vintage 80's NIB cassettes, mostly 60, 90 or 100 min cassette that I was hoping to use when I get a C64 and 1530. I only have two actually datasettes (10 min ones). I read somewhere that long play cassettes were generally not used with the 1530 for some reason. Can anyone tell me why?

I read somewhere that long play cassettes were generally not used with the 1530 for some reason. Can anyone tell me why?
I have no experience with using audio cassettes for digital, but I can tell you about audio. This may apply to your use. The thing about the "long playing" ones is that they are 1/5 mil which is not mechanically good. They tend to screw up because they are so thin and flexible. This is particularly bad if you are winding them quite a bit. They also tend to stretch which is bad for audio. These thin ones should generally be played from end to end without winding. The shorter ones are 1 mil which is much stronger. Generally the 60 min ones are a good choice for reliability and they are easily available. In fact, the 30 minute ones (15 min per side) are often a good choice if you can get them. Oh, and another thing about the 1/2 mil is that you get print-through which might be an issue with digital use where you would want to record to saturation.

Well, I have a drawer full of C60 and C90 used with Commodore 64 in the late 1980s, early 1990s. The writeup on only using C10 to C30 tapes was to sell more media and reduce amount of fast forward and rewind. Indeed sometimes we got the tape tangled up inside the drive, but it was rather an exception than a rule of thumb. We also recorded on both sides of the C90 tapes without any bleed through, and even used the cheapest quality tapes most of the time.