• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Motherboard cleaning - CBM 4016

Atomtan

Folks

I am a newbie to the board. I owned this machine from new, and being in my mid 40's decided to get it (and a few other classics I have accumulated in the last few years) up and running and remember fondly the 6502 era.

Unfortunately for some years in the late 80's it lived on a carpeted floor and most of the back 1/2 of the motherboard is covered in a 2mm thick layer of what looks like dust and carpet fibres combined. The machine itself is excellent and runs well but I have never before 'lifted the hood' to see the extent of the dust inside, until now.

I have restored an Apple II+ recently, but its ICs are socketed and I felt safer cleaning that board as I knew it was easier to replace chips that were broken.

I tried an air duster on one area of the CBM, and it did not move the residue. I used a Q tip and some ispropyl alcohol on the top of a couple of I/Cs and it removed the dust/fibres. I guess this means that I could carefully clean the board with a lint free cloth and alcohol. Assuming I am careful, do you guys recommend doing this or am I likely to cause issues?

Any tips of what I should do, or not do. I am not sure whether to leave it as it is, but it bugs me to see the inside in such a mess.

Many thanks.

I use a paint brush to clean boards, or if it's caked on, wash it in the sink and/or dishwasher, but don't use the drying cycle of the dishwasher, I use the oven on a cookie sheet set to warm (around 200) to dry the board. After that give it a while to completely dry before powering it back on.

Later,
dabone