• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Finally re-capped my SE/30 (pics, and first power-on movie)

RWallmow

Veteran Member
Been so much talk of bad caps and re-capping lately, I decided to re-cap my SE/30.

Old caps were so bad they almost fell off the board, very light pull and they came right off cold, I didn't even have to desolder them.

Mind you I am not very good at surface mount soldering, and all I had on hand was radial-lead capacitors, so it is not going to win any best of show awards, but she runs like the day she was new ;-)

re-capped board: IMG_0205.jpg pile-o-blown-caps: IMG_0204.jpg Closeup of C2-C7: IMG_0203.jpg

Last edited:
Working = good!

I just did my first re-cap on a llsi. I was a bit nervous about SMD, but I found black solid tantalums that matched others on the board. The key was to use solder paste, and tweezers to hold the cap in position while flowing the first side, then firm pressure on top to settle it while flowing the second side. A few slightly crooked to the eye, but all contacts OK and tight AFAIK.

Rick

Working = good!

I just did my first re-cap on a llsi. I was a bit nervous about SMD, but I found black solid tantalums that matched others on the board. The key was to use solder paste, and tweezers to hold the cap in position while flowing the first side, then firm pressure on top to settle it while flowing the second side. A few slightly crooked to the eye, but all contacts OK and tight AFAIK.

Rick

Yeah, I was nervous about the SMD work on this, more nervous about removing old than I was about soldering the new just because I heard horror stories about people lifting traces removing the old caps, but mine were so rotten that they pulled right up without any force, I am literally surprised they hadn't fallen off on their own.