• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

IBM 5162 floppy problems

cameronrsbh

I recently purchased a 5162 off of eBay, and have encountered a problem with the 360Kb 5.25 drive, as it couldn't read disks. I took it out of the machine only to find that it was in fact a 1.2Mb drive, and that the eBay action was wrong, also that the heads wear clean. So my problem is this, as I am new to Computers this old I do not know how to configure it to work correctly, so i need some help. As far as I understand the FD/HD controller is the original, if that helps.

Thanks for the help

First time posting so sorry if I'm doing something wrong.

If you search through these forums, you'll find that a common problem with old 5.25" drives is that the [rails] that the head assembly slides on need to be cleaned then relubricated. Myself and others have found a silicone based lubricant to be satisfactory. The clean/relube is a worthwhile maintenance activity even if it doesn't rectify the problem.

So my problem is this, as I am new to Computers this old I do not know how to configure it to work correctly, so i need some help.
Presumably, you want to verify that your 5162 (XT Model 286) has been set up for a 1.2M drive rather than a 360K one. The IBM way of configuring the 5162 (known as 'SETUP') is to boot the 5170 from the 'Diagnostics for IBM AT and IBM XT Model 286' floppy. [photo] Obviously, you are not in a position to do that.

The third-party program GSETUP.EXE will inform you of how your 5162 is presently configured. You could run that via a 1.44M drive that has been temporarily connected to the floppy controller. See [here] for an example.

Thank you, the drive is working fine now. all I have to do now is find out why it wont boot after a restart, repair the monitor (back of screen caved in) and find my damn 0 key

all I have to do now is find out why it wont boot after a restart,