• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Help with IBM PS/2 Model 30 Floppy Drive

konio38

Hi there guys, i just got into vintage computers recently i have been collecting videogame consoles and games for the past 7 years but i got the urge do start someting different were i live (portugal, europe) computes were never very present until the mid nighties, so getting older stuff is allways hard arround here, but i luckly got a IBM PS/2 from a friend for absolutly noithing :D i absoluty love playing with it but sadly i cant put any data into it, because i cant seem to get the floppy drive to read (general failure error, cant read disk), i have searched arround the web and found out im not alone, it seems its a common issue with these computers.

So i would like if anyone could help me out with a solution to this problem, i have read that some people have been able to use a reguar 1.44MB drive into the models 25 and 50 but i never found any info on the model 30, also this one is one of those weird model 30's that use MCA insted of the regular ISA i dont know if that affects anything but remember im kinda of a noob in these things.

i put some pictures up from the diferent parts of the computer in hope that someone could aid me.

Oh by the way any tips for the new rockie on the block when getting vintage computer stuff?

Thank you in advance i hope you can help me out :D

IMG_20140405_125216.jpgIMG_20140405_125259.jpgIMG_20140405_125351.jpgIMG_20140405_125408.jpgIMG_20140405_125440.jpg

EDIT: I just realized i posted the topic on the wrong section, sorry about that :S mods could you please move it to the correct one?

Last edited:
No, I am fairly certain you have a PS/2 Model 30 with 8-bit ISA slots just like the IBM PC and XT but only smaller cards will fit.. No MCA equipped system I know of had a 8086 for the CPU.