• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Viewsonic E70f with Amiga 3000?

NF6X

Veteran Member
I hope that my question here is not too dumb...

I have a nice Amiga 3000, which came with a non-working Commodore 1950 monitor. I've been trying to fix the monitor, but I have not succeeded yet, and I'm not very good at fixing CRT monitors anyway (this could just be a mental block about poking around near high voltage).

Anyway, I'm considering giving up on fixing the 1950 and replacing it with some different monitor. I have an old LCD monitor that works with my A3000, but it just looks wrong sitting on top of the machine. Now I'm kicking myself for getting rid of my old Viewsonic 17 many years ago!

I'm looking at a NOS Viewsonic model E70f as a possible tube to use with my A3000, and I'm wondering whether it might be a good match for my machine. Assuming that it's not dead-in-box, that is. ;) I understand that the built-in flicker fixer circuitry on the A3000 make it less picky about what monitors it'll work with vs. other Amigas (like my old A1000), but since I didn't pay much attention to the Amiga family from a time when the A1000, A500 and A2000 were the only models until I got the A3000 very recently, I feel a bit out of touch in that area.

Thanks in advance for any informed opinions!

The A3000 really is an amazing machine. The world really lost out first when the A3000 didn't come with AAA and second when Commodore turned down Sun Microsystem's offer to buy A3000UX's and rebrand them as the next big thing in workstations.