• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Anyone know anything about a programming language called "SmallTalk"?

punchy71

Experienced Member
Hello,
I was doing a little bit of research on an old programming language called "SmallTalk". (especially SmallTalk-78 and SmallTalk-80).
It seems to have been created to do "message handling". Unfortunately, that is all I can really discern so far at this point, as texts I've encountered so far trying to explain it devolve into techno-babble that is not clear nor understandable in a plain and simple way (I am not a computer programmer- sorry.).
I was wondering if someone more knowledgeable on this language could elaborate on what it was originally designed for, what it was actually used for, if it got morphed into something else over time and if it is still used or usable in today's modern computer world or not, and whether it is/was a successful language or not.
Thank you

It was originally designed for education/research purposes by Alan Kay's Learning Research Group at Xerox PARC. It's always been a niche language, but it is still around, having found a niche in rapid-development-methodology circles; for me, though, the interesting thing is that it's one of the only "object-oriented" programming languages that actually is object-oriented top-to-bottom. As for the "message" thing, that refers to Smalltalk's approach to object-oriented programming - instead of statically binding function calls to object methods at compile time, Smalltalk sends an object a "message," and if the target object doesn't understand the message, it throws an error. Another interesting aspect is that it borrows LISP's anonymous-functions-as-objects feature, so that you can, say, loop over a whole collection of objects and execute an arbitrary function on each of them.

If you want to experiment with Smalltalk (and I highly recommend dabbling with it a little,) there's a few different modern-ish Smalltalks available:
Smalltalk/X