• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Tandy 1000 SX Help?

AJWINDMEYER

Hi, I am new to the forums so many may not know who I am...

My name is AJ and I am 16 years old. I just received a early Tandy 1000 SX for my vintage pc collection. It has a ISA Driven 8bit IDE drive (20 MB Western Digital) but the pc don't seem to see it. I have never worked with a Tandy before. Can I enter the system BIOS? I don't have any boot floppys thought I have tons of software for it. Can anyone help?

It has 640 kb of memory, does start, and has a16 color magnavox monitor.

My name is AJ and I am 16 years old. I just received a early Tandy 1000 SX for my vintage pc collection. It has a ISA Driven 8bit IDE drive (20 MB Western Digital) but the pc don't seem to see it. I have never worked with a Tandy before. Can I enter the system BIOS? I don't have any boot floppys thought I have tons of software for it. Can anyone help?

It has 640 kb of memory, does start, and has a16 color magnavox monitor.

Hi AJ and welcome to the forum. You might want to head over to the OldSkool site (http://www.oldskool.org/guides/tvdog/system.html) and sift though their files to find your Tandy version MS-DOS 3.2 floppies. As far as the BIOS is concerned, there is no user configurable options available. Your 1000SX originally came with 2 DS/DD 360 KB floppy drives and a 8088 CPU running at 7.16 MHz. The only upgrade path for the CPU would be the NEC V20 (10 MHZ version recommended), which you can find on eBay from time to time. If possible, post a picture of your HD controller with the hard drive attached and describe the cable setup for us. Give us as much info as you can on tour controller card and HD. If you have a problem locating the system floppies for your 1000SX, send me a PM and I'll try to work something out with you.

It has 640 kb of memory, does start, and has a 16 color magnavox monitor.