• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Retro Gaming PC Build Help

RobotPirate99

Hello!
My name is Jackson Miller, and I've been interesting in computers for years. Specifically vintage computers. Now, I have basic knowledge on building PC's, but where I'm having trouble at is retro PC's. Specifically Win98 Era.

See, I want to build myself a retro/dos gaming PC, that would of been totally bad-ass back in the day. And, I'm going to admit it. The era I want to build is the era I was born.(99 as in name) Some of you may laugh at the sight of me on a forum such as this one, but nevertheless, I am determined to build a retro gaming PC, as my start into the vintage PC community.

So, here's my question...
Ya, basically, any got any suggestions on parts from the era? I have no idea and can't seem to find much on the internet.

If anyone could help my on my project, It would greatly be appreciated.

Do have yourselves a good rest of the day or night!

~ Jackson E. Miller

Well it depends on how much money you wanna invest, what features/specs and periphals you want and how original it should be.

Generally you can even use some older 20 Dollar thin clients as a windows 98 machine. Here in Germany we have that Russian guy who is always selling old thin clients as "Windows 98 gaming machines".

http://www.ebay.de/itm/ALTE-DOS-SPI...-HERETIC-OK-/311240168687?hash=item48775c14ef

The advantage of these is that they barely consume any power, something around 15 watt and at 1 GHz they sure beat your typical Pentium 3-450.

An old laptop for 20 Dollar might also do the trick...