• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Comparison between mTCP's NetDrive and EtherDFS

alejack12001

Experienced Member
I just wanted find out if any of the forum members have deployed M. Brutman's mTCP NetDrive and possibly compared it to EtherDFS. I have been using the EtherDFS for about 2 years and have had a number of problems with it's use. First of all. my old DOS systems refuse to upload files to the DFS server unless the drive isn't formatted as FAT16. So, I have to keep a USB drive mounted to the the Raspberry Pi and have it formatted to FAT16 to upload files. The second annoying problem is that files greater than 64KB stall and display access denied. I can retry to send again and at times the file will go through. So, I was just trying to find out anyone has had success with the NetDrive in terms of the stated problems with DFS.

The second question, could this NetDrive be used with the PXE to remote boot a DOS machine?

EtherDFS and mTCP NetDrive are two very different things.
  • EtherDFS works at the filesystem level, so your Linux machine and DOS machine both see a set of files, similar to what two Windows machines do when using file sharing.
  • mTCP NetDrive is a block device driver that provides raw storage to DOS. It's like adding more storage by putting a removable hard drive in the machine, except that it happens over the network. Only one machine can use that storage at a time, so while the DOS machine is connected to the storage the Windows or Linux server should not touch it. (There is an exception; if the storage is marked read-only then it's safe for any number of machines to look at it at the same time.) DOS takes the storage and manages the FAT12 or FAT16 filesystem on top of it.
Other differences:
  • The NetDrive server runs on Windows or Linux (x86 and Arm) and does not require special permissions.
  • NetDrive can be used across wireless connections, or even across the Internet because it uses UDP.