• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Atari 520ST

Nice, thanks for taking the leg work out of splitting those ROMS. I will have to try those out.
No worries, let me know how it goes. I had to script it out, if I repeated that process 9 times manually I was bound to screw it all up.

I tested Star Raiders. It boots to TOS and you have to launch it from the rom cart, which shows up as C:\. Upon running, it complains it can't find a file on the A:\ drive, but you can skip the error and the game plays.

So minus a quirk here or there, it's looking pretty good for these. This was also a great lesson for someone like myself who's a total noob to the ST platform why there aren't a bunch of cart games for it; disks just made way more sense for distribution of software by then it would seem, and there just isn't that much ROM space to work with on a cart here. 128K isn't much for what it seems these systems are capable of, since in the grand scheme of things it's basically 1/3rd of a single-sided 3 1⁄2" floppy disk (360K). With all that said it was a fun exercise and I hope perhaps it's useful to someone here or there.

I have an odd problem. I picked up another 520ST Cheap that was DOA. It was dead when I got it. I cleaned the pins on u 12 and u15 and straightened all the pins and this got the unit booting to TOS (and incredibly fast too), but it doesnt bother to boot off anything in the cartridge slot. And It will NOT boot directly to a working diagnostic cartridge. The cart works fine on my other 520ST. Any ideas why this 520 ST is ignoring signals from the Cartridge slot?