• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

New retrocomputing podcast "Floppy Days"

rkindig

I'm in the process of starting up a new retrocomputing podcast I'm calling "Floppy Days". It's going to be a survey of important personal computers in history based on the historical timeline at http://oldcomputers.net/. It will likely include some important vintage calculators as well. I will focus on things like "the day in history", specs, emulation, popular books & magazine, user groups & shows, popular software, modern upgrades, and connectivity to modern computers.

Please all keep an eye on iTunes and I will post again when the first (introductory) episode is up. I hope you all listen and provide feedback. I'm not an expert on all these systems, so I'm hoping for help from the community in letting everyone know about the best aspects of their favorite systems.

If there's any particular systems that anyone would like me to cover, please contact me at randy@kindig.name.

thanks!

Randy Kindig
Indianapolis

Sounds great. Are you going to be following the Old Computers timeline in order, or jumping around?

Hi Carrington! I will try to go in order, but at times may jump around if there's another machine I want to do. I'm excited about doing this!

Sounds good. Are you going to look models primarily sold in North America, or cover those sold in Europe too? The BBC and Sinclair machines were big in the UK. EACA made a mark in Australia and New Zealand with the Dick Smith System 80 (a rebadged EACA TRS-80 Model 1 clone machine) and there was the Microbee in Australia also.

Tez

Floppy Days Podcast

Floppy Days Podcast

Sounds good. Are you going to look models primarily sold in North America, or cover those sold in Europe too? The BBC and Sinclair machines were big in the UK. EACA made a mark in Australia and New Zealand with the Dick Smith System 80 (a rebadged EACA TRS-80 Model 1 clone machine) and there was the Microbee in Australia also.

Tez