• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Osborne, Kaypro machines found - assistance needed!

phreakindee

Experienced Member
Greetings

I just had a great find yesterday on Craigslist: an Osborne 1a, Kaypro 4/83+88 and many boxes of software, manuals, newsletters, magazines and more.

I'm new to CP/M machines, especially the Osborne. The Kaypro's working nicely so far, other than some disk drive issues that I plan on fixing.

But O-1a is still not booting. It asks for the boot disk but then only says "BOOT ERROR" over and over again. It appears this is a common issue. The A: drive seems to spin up but it never reads the disk. To be honest, I'm not even sure if I have the proper disk to boot it with, since the software I got was almost all for the Kaypro and possibly a Heathkit Zenith H89. It has the double density upgrade installed.

Is there somewhere I can find a boot disk to download? I see the ones on Dave's page for the 1, I assume they'll be fine on my 1a. Just want to make sure it's not my drive and not the wrong disk. I've tried writing them with IMD on an MS-DOS 386 machine, but all I get are write/sector errors. I really have no idea what settings these disks need for the Osborne. All I get is "Write error <1> No sector"

Also, I've heard there's a key to press for swapping A: and B:, thought it was Shift but I've tried holding Shift on startup or pressing it later and it does nothing.

Here's a video of all the stuff that came in the lot, if anyone wants any more info let me know. Looks like there could be some uncommon things in here:

CP/M Craigslist Haul

Thanks so much for any help you all might provide!

Last edited:
IMD is pretty good. Are you trying to write in a 1.2 MB drive or a 360k one? The latter worked well with my Kaypro. I've never made Osborne disks though.

Tez