• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Replacing an IBM XT power supply unit with an ATX one

boggit

Experienced Member
Hello all!

Important disclaimer: I am very new to fiddling around with computer hardware, and I know more or less nothing about how to deal with electricity in this (or, well, any) context.

I've been considering replacing the PSU in my IBM XT with a more modern power supply, mostly because the sound from the fan drives my significant other crazy and she has made it clear that I soon have to make a choice to either keep her or keep my vintage computing hobby, unless I can find a way to make the computer run more silently.

I found this solution available for purchase on tindie.com. It seems to be the answer to my prayers, but I do have some questions that I have a hard time figuring out on my own:

1. If I have understood it correctly, I need to buy the following things to make the ATX4VC solution work:

A. The ATX4VC itself
B. An ATX PSU, such as PicoPSU
C. A power brick with 12V DC and center positive 5.5x2.5mm barrel jack.

Is there anything else I need, that might seem like "goes without saying" stuff for people who are more experienced than I am?

2. Can replace my existing PSU with the ATX4VC (preferably by gutting the innards of my old PSU and place the new stuff there) without having to solder anything?

3. Can I make it work so that I can turn the power on and off with the old orange IBM power switch by connecting it to the ATX4VC solution?

3b. Can I use the old power switch with the ATX4C without soldering anything?

"gutting the innards of my old PSU and place the new stuff there"

I guess the tiny market and cost of a 2024 era switching power supply drop-in rebuild for old PCs still isn't viable.
It would be tiny using modern tech (other than the magnetics)

Here is a modern AT power supply that you can buy new on Amazon, supposedly rated for 400 watts. It feels empty. I have no idea of the quality, but it seems to work.