• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Press Request from my inbox

Erik

Site Administrator
Staff member
Hi,

I'm a writer from the South Florida Sun-Sentinel working on a story about people who collect vintage computers. I'm looking to interview people from the South Florida area (Broward County especially, which includes Fort Lauderdale) and was wondering if you had any such people are your members and if you could ask them to contact me ASAP. I saw one post from someone whose screen name was Sharkonwheels who sounded like he might fit, and I'm sure you know more.

Thanks,

Jamie Malernee
Staff Writer
South Florida Sun-Sentinel
954-356-4849

Jamie is looking specifically for collectors in the South Florida area to "localize" the story. Others have already been interviewed.

Please give a call if you're interested!

Article is tentatively scheduled to run this Sunday, in the local section of the Fort Lauderdale Sun-Sentinel (www.sun-sentinel.com).

The photog came by and grabbed pics - you guys might find humorous the pics he took! Forgot to get the Heath H8 and PX-8 in the pic, but got a Tandy 1000SX, Osborne-1, tandy Model 100, NEC 8201a, couple of SGI's, some pocket computers, CoCo2, 3 IBM 5150's, Mac Plus, etc...

I'll post a definitive link when I find it.

Tony

im in Seminole County, probably too far away, and my competing paper is Orlando Sentinel..

EDIT: Oh wait, too late anyway.. Darn! oh well

Yeah - you noticed that? Man... And I'm nowhere NEAR as hardcore as the other guys in the article. I'm MUCH more selective of what I keep, being mainly CP/M and portable/pocket computers.

Tony

I think people write things like MORON out of pure boredom or jealousy. Not jealous of your collection, but that you have some interest at all to maintain. The article was a good read though, and ultimately it is the only thing that matters.