• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

SCSI Confroller for 11/05

billdeg

Technician
I have been told that one can aquire a SCSI controller card for a DEC 11/05, a SCSI drive, and use these to install RT11 or UNIX (with enough RAM). Anyone done this before? Suggestions?

I have been told that one can aquire a SCSI controller card for a DEC 11/05, a SCSI drive, and use these to install RT11 or UNIX (with enough RAM). Anyone done this before? Suggestions?

There are unibus scsi-cards which probably works with the 11/05. They simply present the disc as if it was using the standard MSCP protcol (I _think_, I'm quite new to this). If I remember correctly the 11/05 can't address a whole lot of memory, enough for RT11 but maybe not UNIX (?)

However, scsi controllers for unibus or qbus are expensive as heck! They are rare and quite sought after. If I find one, I will definitely keep it for myself :)

You might have a look at www.mscpscsi.com and use it with unibus->qbus adapter. I just found this site and don't know much about it, but i looks promising.

However, scsi controllers for unibus or qbus are expensive as heck! They are rare and quite sought after. If I find one, I will definitely keep it for myself :)

I got given one last week, with some other bits & bats! And I'm sorry, that's staying this side of the pond too, as it gives me another boot possibility.
It appears that it's bootable, and is recognised by RSTS-E

Make is CMD and model is CDU-720

Edit- It doesn't mention that it's compatible with the '05

I got given one last week, with some other bits & bats! And I'm sorry, that's staying this side of the pond too, as it gives me another boot possibility.
It appears that it's bootable, and is recognised by RSTS-E

Make is CMD and model is CDU-720

Edit- It doesn't mention that it's compatible with the '05

Lucky you :D insofar I only have a q-bus machine. I'm hoping a scsi-card will be easier to find for q-bus. Now I can only boot from RL01