• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

IBM Model 5153 CGA monitor repair

NotLiable

All,
Cringe along with me when I tell you that my IBM PC/XT's monitor fell backwards off of the tubular rack it was on and dropped about four feet to the concrete floor below. It didn't come back on after that, but inspired by Tezza's (probably simpler) repair of his CGA monitor some time ago, I've decided to at least TRY repairing this, as other than the fact that it's dead, it's in beautiful shape, as is the rest of the system.
I have opened 'er up and checked that the power supply still generates voltages. Suprisingly, nothing visibly appears broken, such as a shattered/cracked CRT. I am an electrical engineer, but I don't have a schematic or service manual for this thing or any experience in monitor repair.
Is someone out there able to assist me in troubleshooting this CGA 5153 monitor? I hope so!

Art

All,
Cringe along with me when I tell you that my IBM PC/XT's monitor fell backwards off of the tubular rack it was on and dropped about four feet to the concrete floor below. It didn't come back on after that, but inspired by Tezza's (probably simpler) repair of his CGA monitor some time ago, I've decided to at least TRY repairing this, as other than the fact that it's dead, it's in beautiful shape, as is the rest of the system.

Ouch!!

Yes, I was lucky in that my faulty component LOOKED as if it was faulty, so was discovered simply from the careful visual inspection.

I do have something that might be of help. Download this PDF from it's temporary location here [EDIT 17th Jue, 2009: Link now removed, as it was only temporary]

Good luck!

Tez

Last edited:
Downloadin' the docs!

Downloadin' the docs!