• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

IBM Aptiva 2159 Talk

linuxlove

Veteran Member
Have you used one of these before? Do you still own one? These are Pentium-based systems, so I'm putting the talk here. I got mine for free :D from some freinds of mine. It has:

1GB master, 3GB slave
32MB of RAM (Pesky IBMs, you can't mix and match RAM in them :mad:)
a 200MHz MMX Pentium 1
Sound Blaster 1.5
Some PCI 10/100 NIC
ATI MACH64 SVGA (2MB Integrated)
1.44MB Floppy drive
CDROM drive
DOS 5 and Windows For workgroups 3.11\

I also have the original monitor :D

Pics here: http://linuxlove.rubbermallet.org/images/aptiva/

I've never used an Aptiva like that before. But I do like the "Remote Media Console". It looks like a mutant Macintosh LC :D (and the black color is nice).

Unique IBM PC design

Unique IBM PC design

The Aptiva 2159 is the split system case style with a media console (diskette and CD drives) under the monitor separated from the tower containing the rest of the system. IBM designed this unique system to save desk space in the home. What is the type and model number of your Aptiva? You can see the specifications of specific North American models here http://ibmpcbbs.dyndns.org/pcpartnerinfo/ctstips/cac2.htm or here http://ps-2.kev009.com:8081/pcpartnerinfo/ctstips/cac2.htm.

If you happen to have model S80, S90, 17R, or 18R, I have the original software package for sale at the marketplace: http://marketplace.vintage-computer.com/101197,auction_id,auction_details.

I have one of those Remote Media Consoles and a couple of Aptivas (one is a 2161C8X, the other one, I don't recall the model number).

The C8X came with everything the unit originally came with (I can't recall if it has the original monitor), but all the original software.