• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

"Embedded Windows XP" Any Experience?

cgrape2

Experienced Member
I'm attempting to refurbish a PC that has a "Flash" memory module for a HD.It has a version of XP that's "Embedded".I have no experience with this idea and was wondering if anyone can fill me in on the pitfalls of adding stuff to it.(Besides Extra Programs)
I can see that it has parts missing,but seems very functional.I do understand the concept,just don't know the ins and outs.
Eventually a version of LINUX will be used,it has to be functional and fit into a 500MB space.What should I look for?
cgrape2:confused:

The first thing that comes to mind is Windows Fundamentals for Legacy PCs (AKA: Windows "flip").
It is essentially Windows XP with almost EVERYTHING set as an optional component, right down to Internet Explorer which since the very late Windows 95 days has been embedded into the desktop in the form of ActiveDesktop.
I had it running on a computer here and it was not ahlf bad. It extended the use out of my Panasonic CF-25 toughbook after I maxed it out and upgraded the processor.
Unfortunately it needs a dead minimum of 610mb of space. :(

The first thing that comes to mind is Windows Fundamentals for Legacy PCs (AKA: Windows "flip").
It is essentially Windows XP with almost EVERYTHING set as an optional component, right down to Internet Explorer which since the very late Windows 95 days has been embedded into the desktop in the form of ActiveDesktop.
I had it running on a computer here and it was not ahlf bad. It extended the use out of my Panasonic CF-25 toughbook after I maxed it out and upgraded the processor.
Unfortunately it needs a dead minimum of 610mb of space. :(

Whoa, CF-25?
Still using it?
Feel like sending me an AC adapter? :D

As for XPe, it's fun stuff, but very tricky. FLP is a very different beast, as is CE.

Umm,XPe is "Tricky"?How about expanding on that topic.I really need the illumination.
cgrape2