• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

DOS 6.22 + New Computer

antiquekid3

Veteran Member
I would like to install DOS on my 20GB D: drive. My C: drive contains WinXP. I have the three installation disks, but how can I install DOS on my D: drive?

I was thinking about disconnecting the 40GB C: drive, replacing it with my 20GB drive, installing it normally, then putting the 40GB drive as C: and the 20GB drive as D:. Then when I want to boot DOS, I hit F12 at startup and boot from the 20GB "slave drive," now known as D:. Does that make sense, and would it work?

Any help would be much appreciated!!

Kyle

Why not just modify the BOOT.INI file on C: ? I haven't tried it, but I think it should work.

Alternatively, you could make some room for a primary DOS partition on C: (use gparted or a similar partition editor) and boot from that.

How can I do that? I am completely new to DOS and modifying system32 files and such... :)

Can WinXP boot from a drive labeled D:? If so, I'll just switchero the drives and install DOS on C:. Would that work?

Kyle

Yes, you can boot WinXP from D:, but the Windows boot files still have to be on C:

Google is your friend here. Try searching for "Windows boot.ini DOS"

You'll get hits like this one:

http://home.earthlink.net/~jdbryan/directboot.html

Note that DOS 6.22 has a partititon size limit of 2GB and that partition must be located in the lower 2GB of a drive. Also note that DOS 6.22 understands only FAT16 and FAT12 filesystems; not NTFS, so sharing your XP files with DOS is going to get a little involved. (hint: WinXP can understand FAT partitions, but DOS doesn't understand NTFS partitions).

Most people are surprised when they find out that XP has a native multiboot facility.

Another option is to install DOSBox on your XP system.

Last edited:
... and in any event DOS6.22 will only be able to access the first 8GB of that 20GB drive.
Why not move up to 7.x?