• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

5150 rebuild project

bettablue

Veteran Member
As a system builder, I know how to build a computer pretty much from scratch, but the systems I have built are all newer gaming type machines with massive amounts of memory, processors and high end peripherals.

So, my friend and I are starting the rebuild of the donor 5150 this weekend. When done, our plans are to leave it with only one 360 K floppy drive, 256 K of onboard RAM, a parallel port and monochrome display card, and that's pretty much it. We have a NOS 5150 revision B mother board with processor, and an XT power supply to get started. Most importantly is that the 5150's case is in perfect shape as well as the original keyboard. We're also keeping the original internal cables, wiring and whatever else we can re-use. Do we need to be aware of anything else while rebuilding this computer?

I also want to replace any missing expansion bay covers and drive bay cover. Where can I get these? Will the expansion slot covers from a new PC fit the 5150 case OK?

When this computer is done, I'm giving it to my friend. The only thing he will need then, is a monochrome monitor to complete the system.

Just doing a similar project myself as it happens.

The original 5150(b) PSU I have in mine has awful RIFA X2 caps in it, which will need replacing (note the PSU will still run the machine with these completely blown).

Potential problems on the board, I am informed, are most likely to be in the bead caps, RAM or BIOS chips.

Here's a floppy disk head alignment idea, in case you should need it:
http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/2010-06-28-alignment-tandon-m100.htm

Painted finish of the case (basically all of it) cleans up well with car polish i.e. Autoglym, and keyboard casing too.

Note HD disks won't work properly in DD drives.

Looking for a drive bay cover myself too!