• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Favorite version of x86 DOS?

I started with 1.1, then 2.11 and used that for the longest time although I did purchase 3.1 and 5.1 but did not really upgrade until 6.22 which I still use today. Everything below 6.22 has lousy memory usage and for the most part way too bulky to use on a regular basis. I was a programmer and as such 2.11 was small, quick, and did its job well. It was bad enough to compile and link a decent program back in the day. And so with time at a premium you went with what was the quickest and that was 2.11. When I upgraded to a 486 with 3.5" floppies I had to upgrade and on that machine used 3.32 until 6.22 came out.

The best thing about 6.22 is that it can access huge amounts of memory, well over the 64 meg limit with the right software.

The best thing about 6.22 is that it can access huge amounts of memory, well over the 64 meg limit with the right software.
Just copy a himem.sys from a Windows 9x/ME system to your DOS system and "hey presto!!" Should work on earlier versions of 6.x too I believe.

Just copy a himem.sys from a Windows 9x/ME system to your DOS system and "hey presto!!" Should work on earlier versions of 6.x too I believe.

The problem with HIMEM.SYS is that it's 130K and according to some, obsolete. JEMMEX is 100K smaller! I think that Microsoft lost interest in HIMEM before it was really mature because they didn't need it for their Windows product, but what do I know? :)

Hey if it works does it really matter what method is used? I've heard of folk having issues with JEMMEX posted of various forums. My point was that accessing 64+ in dos is quite trivial and 6.22 isn't all that special. As you've mentioned you just need some core files and extend it as one sees fit.