• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Can't get this 20x4 LCD to work

Well, you're still working in the vagaries of CS=FFFF. Really, if you want to be clear, you can even code a jump like this at the restart location:

Code:
    DB  0EAh
    DW   0000h,0FF80h

Which would jump to the start of the last 2K in memory.

So where do you set SS:SP for your stack? You CALLed routines aren't going to return anywhere meaningful if the stack's not in RAM.

Last edited:
So far, I haven't been directly using the stack. I've just been using the registers. The program that keeps looping the hex value to the 7-segment LEDs works fine. I'm still learning, but so far I haven't found a need to use the stack. I've actually been studying and learning about the stack, though.

Good point--I'd assumed that the OP had already debugged basic operation, although I'd wondered a bit about the code.

On 8086/88 CS=FFFF, IP=0000. Other registers are undefined at reset. So a CALL may work, but also may not without setting SS:SP.

===================
Take it from an old guy--when you're working with a new hardware setup, the first thing you should get going is a serial monitor. I've done it for years--and very often on embedded devices, you'll even see pads that the original developers included for a serial hookup.

There's nothing quite like a "Hello world" message to raise your confidence.

In your case, a UART, such as a 8250-type chip or even a 2650-type is easy to interface to. Add a MAX232 to shift your signals to RS232 levels and you've got it. I've done it so much that I have a MAX232 as a dongle that I can attach to any board needing comms.

If you need code for a simple serial console, I'd be happy to pass some along.