• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Altos 986t.

jamesF20121996

Hi guys, forgive me if I have posted this in completely the wrong section but I have no knowledge in the area of vintage pc's. I have been searching through my cupboards and draws and I have found an old system that I hope someone here can shed some light on, Its an Altos 986t, that is all I know. I tried searching the web for it but there is little information on it, hope someone can throw some useful information at me, and maybe a value.
I will post a few pictures at the bottom, sorry for poor quality pictures.
Thanks in advance
James

IMAG0207.jpgIMAG0208.jpgIMAG0209.jpgIMAG0210.jpg

Last edited:
I've seen a few of those, or similar vintage Altos, on eBay from time to time. They don't go for much. As an indication there is one vintage computer seller on ebay that charges insane prices for vintage stuff. Like in the thousands for stuff worth a fraction of that. He has one of those for $350 and it may be the cheapest computer he is selling. Probably means it is worth something around $100 or less.

This was a high-end multi-user system that is powered by an Intel processor and ran either CP/M 86, MP/M 86 or Xenix in a, up to 10 user, multiuser environment. This unit requires dumb terminals for output although a computer with an RS-232 serial port and null modem cable and terminal software will provide video and user input.

I own one! I used a term emulator on my Atari ST (any machine will work) to access it. The disk and tape drive on mine are shot, so it's serial port only as far as accessing it goes. There is an ethernet card out there for it, but I have yet to find it. Once while I was out and about I saw tape and floppy, but the faceplate was different, they were blue. I wish I had gotten them.

Mine has Xenix on it.