• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

New Member from Frederick County, Maryland

TomFisher

Hi All!

I am just beginning with vintage computers (older than I am). Currently I have no experience with anything before an Intel 386 / MS DOS (or PC DOS sometimes) and Windows 3.1

However, I have recently purchased a Corona PPC-400-22 (It hasn't even arrived yet) with an Intel 8088. The purchase comes as one of my friends recently found an IBM 5155 luggable and I fell in love with the idea.

My other computers are a Packard Bell Legend 5385Z 133MHz, and from there it skips to Pentium III class and up. I used to have a Pentium II which was a truly awesome computer but it has sadly stopped functioning. My current favorite is a 900MHz AMD Thunderbird which IMO is the best thing AMD ever made (any of my friends that use it agree).

A little about me, I used to be much more into computers, having a machine running every version of Windows and many Linux versions dating back to Redhat Shrike. That was back in high school. When college came around, having been given a car with 150K miles on it as my first car, computers and electronics in general went on the back burner so I could learn how to properly maintain (and soup up where possible) my automobile. Now that I've pretty much mastered that, I've come back to electronics learning combinational logic circuits (4000 series CMOS and 74ls series TTL), microcontrollers and ever so slightly sequential logic circuits.

I absolutely prefer a CRT to an LCD and I've written some of my best papers on my Brother WP3400 word processor.