• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Bonjour from Québec

SParent

Experienced Member
Hi all,

My name is Sylvain and I'm in the upper half of the 40s, so I grew up with the computer revolution. I got hooked to electronics and building mechanical stuff before turning 10, and I never quit. I studied electronics (analog and digital), programming, and physics.

I got and used a lot of computers in my life, and I moved a lot too, so I didn't keep much stuff. However, I recently got into the habit of scouring the local flea market, the classifieds and eBay, looking for computers I owned previously. Of course I found a lot, and I told my wife that I could resell them at a profit. Strangely, I found it difficult to part with my new toys, so I didn't sell a single one yet, and I here...

Currently I own : Vic 20, C64, 1541x3, a Coco 2, an Amiga 3000, an Apple IIc, Pentium II 350MHz, and two Power mac G3. My favorite is the Amiga!

Nice to meet you all!

Welcome to the forums :) Somehow I ended up in full reply mode instead of quick reply mode so I don't have my cheat sheet of what systems you have open heh. Were those all systems you previously had the opportunity to play with or are some of them new to you? One of my reasons behind being such a fan of Amiga was seeing what it could do compared to the PCs I had around at the same time. I think that's unfortunately hard to relate to folks if they couldn't see the competition when it was new, although I'm guilty of that too to an extent for older systems which I've only been given the chance to catch up with now that they're cheap. It was amazing to see the full color spectrum they could provide, games with such amazing synthesized music. Only when we got our first 486 and spent some additional cash on an adlib card did it start to compete and become similar in ability.

Hi, Sylvain!