• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

new ethernet/wifi card?

josephdaniel

Experienced Member
Has anyone here ever given any thought to making an XT-WIFI card for 8 bit systems? I don't know if this would even be possible but it would be really cool (even cooler if it had Ethernet jacks on it too) ! I know there is an enormous mount of talent here! There could be something like a custom piece of software that you run with the card in place and you select from a list of available networks or you could configure TC/IP settings and what not...

Just a thought ;-)

Bleh.. took a while to find but Mike Chambers did a cute little hack like you were already thinking using a wireless router and mounting it inside the case lol. Regarding an actual 8-bit wifi card, I'm no smart engineer guy but I'm not sure if an XT would be able to handle the packet load.. I suppose one could have a coprocessor on the card though which handles the ops.

There are plenty of Ethernet and WiFi add-ons for microcontroller systems. I don't see why any of them couldn't be adapted to the ISA bus or even prallel port.

One can also use an 8-bit Ethernet card and an Ethernet -> Wireless bridge like the Linksys WET11. Such wireless bridges are often configured through a web interface, so Lynx from DOS could be used to establish wireless connections.

I would think an XT would at least have the processing power of a printer. :)

You'd likely be surprised!

Actually I would doubt that it would have that more power... as barythrin said there could be a co-processor on-board. I tried doing a dd-wrt wifi bridge with my nic. I could telnet into it and login but I could never figure out the commands...

Actually I would doubt that it would have that more power...