• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Hello from the Wet Coast

pinto79

Hello all.

My name is Trevor. I've been a computer hobbyist since I was 7 years old. I have spent almost all of that time as a DOS/Windows user with a small foray in OS/2 back in the early/mid 1990s. I actually bought OS/2 Warp 4 in 1996 when it came out and have never installed it...

My interest in old/vintage computers came about recently when, of all things, I got an iPhone 3GS. I started to study the company that made it come to be and became consumed by all things Apple. Sure, I've had my 386 and 486 computers kicking around for a bit of nostalgia, but this little iPhone made me wonder about the Apple side of things that I never really was interested in or cared about in the past...

My high school had a computer "lab" full of Apple ][e and GS machines that didn't interest me, and i was happy to see that they were replaced with PC Clones in my second year there...

So, rewind back to September 2012... I got this iPhone and out of curiosity I started checking out old Steve Jobs Keynotes and new product launches. I became consumed! Despite not having any disposable cash to buy anything at that moment, I started scouring Craigslist for used machines. I wanted to find a Power Mac G5 Quad Core from the last year of the PPC ones... only one popped up and the guy wouldn't respond to my email... grrr... so I kept looking...

One fateful day, I decided to upgrade the CPU in my 6 year old Acer laptop. A friend of mine who is a licensed Avionics tech offered to help, so we go into it. Something went sideways and to make a log story short, we turned a perfectly fine working laptop into a brick. Please don't take it as a sign of my friends abilities in Avionics nor mine as an aircraft instrument tech... it just wasn't meant to be.