• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Apple IIe died.

Lurch666

Experienced Member
Took my apple II to a retro show last weekend to show it off but being switched on all weekend has done it no good.
Now when I turn on all I get is this screen.

2013-10-17 12.14.14.jpg

I have re-seated all the socketed chips and swapped the ram chips about after reading other threads on this forum.
I presume this is NOT the diagnostic screen.
I figure I'm going to have to get a chip tester and go through all the chips to find the faulty ones but thought I would post a screenshot incase anyone else has had the same problem and knows of a solution.

Thanks dudes.

Last edited:
Hello,

I'm not an Apple expert, but the first thing that came into my mind is some ROM become corrupt/unreadable. If you have the dump and ROM programmer, you might try to remove the EPROMs and compare data.

When it did switch on last time? You mentioned it was not working well.

Tried various reset combinations but no change.
Tried replacing the 6502-no change.
I have an eprom programmer now so I will check the applesoft rom.I have found an apple2e.rom image and I'm hoping it's the right one.

Tried various reset combinations but no change.
Tried replacing the 6502-no change.
I have an eprom programmer now so I will check the applesoft rom.I have found an apple2e.rom image and I'm hoping it's the right one.

Yes, I bet there are more versions of the system rom, but I'm sure the guys here have many different dumps available. :)

Put the applesoft rom into my eprom burner but I don't know what type of chip it is.I figure the number on it is an apple serial because it doesn't match any of the known ones in my eprom burner chip list.Any idea what type it is?
The number on it is 341-1035