• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

How many computers do I need?

Dav1d

I am extremely new to vintage PC gaming. I would like to know how many PCs I need so that I am not limited to what libraries I want to collect from.

I'm aware I need an Apple 2/3, an Apple Macintosh, Texas Instruments TI-99, Commodore 64.

I want to set a table with all of my vintage PC and modern PCs.

That's a loaded question. I say "To each his/hers own." Some people have lots of room; others have little. Some have more of the "bug" than others. I only collect what I can "comfortably" store with four systems out at a time.

I think you underestimate how many different vintage platforms there are out there. There was a HUGE diversity of computing platforms in the 70s and 80s.

Just looking at one list: Apple II, Apple Macintosh, Atari, Commodore 64, DEC Rainbow, IBM PC, Kaypro II, NEC APC, NEC PC, Osborne, TI-99/4A, TI-Professional, TRS-80, TRS-80 Model III.

And within many families you have different, often incompatible models. Some games will run on only certain specific models within those families. For example a "TRS-80" game can be specific to the original TRS-80, Model II, Model III, Model 4, color computer, etc. Others programs may even require specific configurations of sound cards, graphic cards, and input devices for the best operation. For example, some "PC" games have the best sound only on a Tandy 1000. Others require a 386+, while others are incompatible with anything later than a PC XT

The combinations needed to run ALL games in ALL the universe is almost endless.

And that is not even getting in to dedicated game consoles!

I'd say start with one system type and get to know as much about it as possible, then as time/money permit move to another platform you have a liking for. In the interim you can use emulators until you aquire the "real thing? Also visit dedicated forums for the systems you would like.