• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Apple II and Sup'R'Mod II

Holmes

Experienced Member
Hi All:

So I'd like to connect my Apple II to a nice Sony Trinitron KV9200 that I just picked up. The Sony only has UHF and VHF screws on it (a pair of screws for each). So I'm looking at using the Sup'R'Mod II that is in the Apple II, which I guess is an RF modulator.

I've never used one of these before, so I figured I'd check before I blew anything up. The Sup'R'Mod II is stuck to the inside of the Apple II case, and is attached to the motherboard with a cable with a 4-pin header. There are 2 RCA-type phono plugs on the Sup'R'Mod.

My understanding is that I'll need to connect this somehow to the UHF/VHF screws on the tv. So first of all, which RCA port do I use? Also, what sort of cable will allow me to do this? Do I need to make a custom cable? What did people do in 1977?

It doesn't make sense to me. I'd think if you were connecting to TV, they would put a coax plug on the RF modulator, not an RCA-type connector (which to me says composite output).

Can someone help? I tried googling everything I could think of, but couldn't find anything helpful.

It's not composite video. It's the same signal you'd get as broadcast TV (before we switched from analog to digital broadcast, that is) except instead of being carried over the air, it's being carried by an RCA cable.

If you have the book The New Apple II User's Guide, there's a photo that shows how to configure it.

Basically there are two components: the RF modulator and the TV-antenna switch. The modulator sits in your Apple II and you connect its cable to the 4 Molex pins at the upper-right corner of the motherboard. Then connect an RCA phono cable to the female connector that is on top of the gray box. Connect the other end of this RCA cable to your TV-antenna switch.