• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

IMSAI 8080 on eBay

If you've got the cash, and are looking for that particular model, I don't see any big red flags. I'm by no means an IMSAI expert, though. Heck, the auction lists a 30-day return policy, so you could always return it if it's not as represented! :) The seller has a high rating with a lot of auctions to their credit, so that's a plus.

From the pictures, it appears to have an 8080 processor board, a few memory cards, a bunch of I/O boards (that may or may not be useful to you), and also has some modifications made to the power supply. They do not talk about providing any documentation, and they show the obligatory picture with the power turned on, where you see all address lines except A2 and all data lines lit up. So, the LEDs work, but there is no indication that anything else is actually working.

I think that $2100 (BIN plus shipping) is a bit steep for this one. I have purchased similar machines in the past for $1000-$1500, but that was in the past.

I would be more sympathetic if this was an individual Seller who you could get into a conversation with and find out what he knows and what he has actually done with the machine. I would be more inclined to try and contact this institutional Seller and see if they might be open to take an offer of something like $1000 or $1500, or re-list it with a more reasonable BIN, but that's me.