• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Need Help with XT-IDE V2 will not find Drives.

Jimmy

Veteran Member
I recently build 3 XT-IDE V2, two for friends and one of my IBM 5160. Two recognize the Flash Card and IDE drive, but the third one will not. I have swapped out the chips and the problem is on the board.

It will load the Bios okay but will not find the CF Card or the IDE drives. I have checked all the jumper setting several times. I have reviewed all my solder connections and they seem to be okay, but my eyes are not what they used to be and I could be missing a bad connection.

I need help in where to start troubleshooting where the problem may be. There is not a lot left on the board other than the resistors and caps to replace. I have some wire wrap, but really do not know enough about the electronics on the board as where to start. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Jimmy

Hi Jimmy,

I'm still a bit of a beginner on troubleshooting components but here's what I would do.

1. Visually examine your solder joints and the tracks on the PCB. Sounds like you've already done this.

2. Test all the resistors. You should be able to do this in circuit with the OHM setting. Most of the time, it should report back the resistor value. I don't know of a way to test capacitors while they are in the circuit.

3. Test continuity of your IDE header. Check each pin from the solder joint to the end of the pin. It's slow and time consuming.

4. Take out the chips then test continuity of your sockets.

Can't really think of much else off hand. I hope this helps or at least gives you some other ideas. :)

Heather

Its most likely a solder connection. I also had a problem with one of my XT-IDE cards, and it turned out several
of the solder connections needed to be re-flowed. I noticed that in some cases the solder wouldn't 'easily' flow onto