• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Cyrix 386(SX) to 486 upgrade

nc_mike

Experienced Member
Got my hands on a Cyrix 386SX to 486 snap-on CPU upgrade. I installed the Cyrix CPU- its a snap on over the soldered 386sx and installed with a snap (excuse the pun). I restarted the computer and it booted fine, though I hadn't yet installed the Cyrix 486 cache SW. After boot-up I used SYSINFO7 to check my system config and SYSINFO7 correctly showed that I was running the Cyrix 486 at 33MHz. So far so good.

The moment I try to run the cyrix cache application, I get a loop of what appears to be error codes filling the screen (123F123F123F...) until I hit Ctrl-Break to break out of the loop. I don't see anything in the documentation about this kind of error - has anyone else come across something similar with the Cyrix upgrade?

Regards,
Mike

I have no first-hand knowledge of this CPU upgrade processor. There is info that hints that the upgrade may not always work, though.

From the 386-to-486 Upgrade Processor FAQ:

Remember we cannot upgrade 386SX-33MHz or 40MHz PCs

The original Intel 386SX-16MHz processor does not have a float pin, which the Cyrix Upgrade must have in order to work. The Cyrix Upgrade uses this pin to disable the processor and take over the processing. This is only an issue on 386SX-16MHz computers.

Older 387 math coprocessors may cause the system to stall and should be replaced with a new 387.

The Cyrix Upgrade will not work with 386 computers that only use a 287 math coprocessor. The 287 will have to be removed.

The Cyrix Upgrade will not work in Sun workstations.

The Cyrix Upgrade has been tested on many platforms. Within manufacturer models and lines, there can be slight differences that will allow the Upgrade to work well on one machine and not on another, although outwardly they may appear identical.