• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

SHX-RAND - a random-number generator project for 8086/386

commodorejohn

Veteran Member
Being as I'm interested in dabbling with game development for MS-DOS, I knew I'd need a random-number generator eventually. While researching the subject, I found this algorithm, which combines a number of attractive features: no multiply/divide (shift/XOR-based instead,) very little storage required, and a long period. (I'm no statistics expert, so I can't speak for the quality of the random numbers, but they certainly look random to me...) So I took a stab at implementing it in assembler, and here it is:

http://www.commodorejohn.com/shx-rand.zip (assembler source is NASM format)

It's really quite a nice and simple algorithm to implement in assembler; I did both an 8086 version and a 386 version (uses 32-bit operations and long immediate shifts.) Most of the work went into the 8086 version, which I tried to optimize to minimize memory access; I'm not going to claim the result is optimal (I'd be happy to hear suggestions for improvement,) but I think it's pretty good. A reference implementation in C is also included, along with test programs for all three which generate the first 65536 random numbers from a specified seed, and have been verified to give the same results.

So yeah, this was an interesting little project. I intend to add a 68k implementation to the mix, shouldn't be too hard. Questions? Comments? Smart remarks?

Code:
getrand:	; Destroys all main registers, returns AXBX = 32-bit random number
			; Also returns EBX = 32-bit random number on 80386
	%ifdef CPU_80386
		; 80386 version (32-bit, has barrel-shifter, fast!)
		mov	eax, [randx]	; Ahh, 32-bit registers...
		mov	ebx, eax		; Does this save us a memory access on the XOR?
		shl	eax, 11			; Ahh, barrel-shifter with large immediate shifts...

xor	eax, ebx

mov	ebx, [randw]	; I'm not going to try to make the list-shuffle look