• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Casio Pocket computers

sonic2000gr

Is anyone here interested (or actually own) a CASIO pocket computer? Casio has produced quite a few models of pocket computers running mostly BASIC (but also PB 2000C that has C) during the 80s. Most of it is now considered collectable.
When I was a student I had a PB 220 along with the RP-8 memory expansion module (a total of 10Kb RAM, 9696 bytes available to BASIC) and I was using it heavily with science and engineering programs. Sadly this machine is now gone, but I still have a hard copy of the programs.
Few months after I got the PB 220, I've seen the FX 850 which I instantly liked - it even had a two screen display, but could not afford to buy it.

Recently however I located a site, www.cynox.de which still sells NEW CASIO FX-880P (this is an upgrade to 850 with 32Kb memory standard, expandable to 64Kb) and they even have the memory expansion! A 64Kb 880P cost about 132.50 euros (VAT and shipping to Greece included) and I just ordered one today :D

I received an email from them, they are sending it this Thursday and say arrival to Greece is estimated in 3 weeks time (but I firmly believe it will be less). When I receive it I will surely post photos of it, if people here are interested. I am also planning of putting up a site with my programs for FX880P (and PB220), TI-92 Plus and Casio CFX-9850 (which I also own)

So has anyone else any stories to share on pocket Casios?

I have a sharp PC-1500 (not quite working yet) that's probably pretty close.

Erik

Pocket Computer

Pocket Computer