• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here
  • From now on we will require that a prefix is set for any items in the sales area. We have created regions and locations for this. We also require that you select a delivery option before posting your listing. This will hopefully help us streamline the things that get listed for sales here and help local people better advertise their items, especially for local only sales. New sales rules are also coming, so stay tuned.

Altair 8800 or 8080 (any versions) wanted

billdeg

Technician
I have been trying to track down a working or fixable Altair MITS computer. I prefer an 8800 or 8080 (any versions). Please contact me if you would like to sell or trade. I am a hobbyist, I want to use and compare with others of the era using same chip, or competitor chips.

MITS made the 8800 line of Altair computers based on the Intel 8080 chipset. The 8800 was the first, the 8800a upgraded the power supply and the motherboard slightly and the 8800b upgraded the front panel, the motherboard and the power supply.

The MITS Altair 680 was another line based on the 6800 processor. There was a short-lived A version and a B version that is far more common.

IMSAI made an 8080 as a "clone" of the Altair. Dozens of other manufacturors did as well, in time, including Compupro, Cromemco, Polymorphic Systems, California Computer Systems and many others.

All of these machines work basically the same running either 8080 or Z80 chips, CP/M (or some other 8-bit OS) and 8" or 5.25" drives.

Altairs typically sell for well over $1,000 regardless of condition. Imsai systems are getting close to that. Other S-100 machines are far more reasonably priced.

Best of luck!

Erik

altair 8800 8080

altair 8800 8080