• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Apple II Assembly Questions

Mister_Al

Been a long time since I've posted here.

I have been studying 6502 assembly for several months and now feel comfortable about trying some simple programming. Unfortunately I am having trouble getting an assembler that will work properly (more on that another time) so have been trying some POKES and Shape Tables in BASIC to get accustomed to working with bytes.
There are plenty of questions I'd like to ask, but I'll stick with these for now:

1. Some program listings have POKES for 'negative' addresses. -1024, -4320, for example. How is this possible if address start at zero?

2. Is plotting pixels in either resolution via POKE faster than PLOT/HPLOT?

3. I am able to move a lo-res pixel around the screen via POKES. To advance another row, all you have to do is increase the POKE value by 128, but the middle of the screen's locations are actually LOWER:

Top: $780/1920
Middle: $428/1064
Bottom: $7A8/1960

How do I go about handling this? I imagine it will come up again when I get into full-fledged assembly programming.

1. Some program listings have POKES for 'negative' addresses. -1024, -4320, for example. How is this possible if address start at zero?

16-bit two's complement values range from -32,768 to 32,767.
Decimal values 0 through 32,767 have hex values 0000 through 7FFF
Decimal values -32,768 through -1 have hex values 8000 through FFFF

I still don't understand. why not use positive 32,768 to get $8000, instead? I tried several decimal/binary converters and they don't return anything for negative values.